With Porsche’s strongest lineup ever for the Rolex 24 Hours Of Daytona, Pacific Porsche will be having a viewing party at the store on Saturday starting at 11AM and running into the afternoon. We will have Frysmith providing free gourmet fries, drinks to kick things off on Saturday, then on Sunday for the run to the checkered flag, Lido will be providing champagne, croissants,and more beginning at 10AM.

Morgan’s Jewelers, the South Bay’s exclusive Rolex distributor, will be on hand with a selection of Rolex’s finest new models in addition to other exquisite brands with special pricing available only at this event. Adding to the excitement, Pacific Porsche will have special pricing on select Porsches available during this two day viewing party. If you forget we have created a special web page for the event on the Pacific Porsche site, to get there, just click the link here.

The opening event for the 2011 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series season currently has 49 entries, and 15 of them are Daytona Prototype and Rolex GT class Porsches, including 14 Porsche 911 GT3 Cup racers.

“This is the largest gathering of Porsche driving champions in the world, and we are proud that our customers have chosen to field top-of-the-line Porsche race cars to compete in the Rolex 24. Our entries include seven factory drivers, 15 drivers who have won here in the past, four Porsche Mobil1 Supercup season champions, five Le Mans 24winners, plus seven drivers who have won either Grand-Am or ALMS season championships. Add to that the expert preparation from our customer teams and the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, the most produced race car by a street car manufacturer, and it gives Porsche entries a good chance for success,” said Jens Walther, president of Porsche Motorsports North America.

Leading the way in the Daytona Prototype class is the Flying Lizard Motorsports Porsche Riley entry with Porsche factory drivers Joerg Bergmeister (Germany) and Patrick Long(USA), with team owner Seth Neiman and Johannes van Overbeek (both USA) sharing the driving chores. Bergmeister has won the GT class three times, one of those an overall win in 2003 in a TRG Porsche 911 GT3 RS, while Long won with Joerg in 2009 in a TRG Porsche 911 GT3 Cup. Their Porsche-Riley, powered by the 500 hp Porsche 911 GT3 RSR-based six-cylinder engine, is the winning Daytona Prototype from the 2009 event.

The other five Porsche works drivers (in bold) have their sights set on victory in the traditionally fiercely-contested GT class with the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup: Marco Holzer(Germany) and Richard Lietz (Austria) compete for Magnus Racing along with team owner John Potter and former Grand-Am Cup champion Craig Stanton; Patrick Pilet(France) races for the TRG/Black Swan Racing/GMC Racing squad with Jeroen Bleekemolen, Bret Curtis, team owner Tim Pappas, and James Sofronas; Wolf Henzler(Germany) will drive a TRG Racing team Porsche with Andy Lally, Spencer Pumpelly, Brenda Gaughan and Steve Bertheau; Marc Lieb (Germany) will share driving time with a legendary teammate for the mutiple Daytona-winning Brumos Racing team, which swaps from prototypes to the GT class this year as Hurley Haywood (USA). the most successful pilot at the Rolex 24 with five overall and six class wins, is on board with Leh Keen and Andrew Davis.

Other Porsche 911 GT3 Cup entries in the Rolex GT class include the TRG car for Ryan Eversley/Daniel Graeff/Ron Yarab,Jr./Richard Zahn and NASCAR star Kenny Wallace; the Burtin Racing entry of Claudio Burtin/Jack Baldwin/Nick Tandy/Martin Ragginger/Nicolas Armindo; Belgian-based Muehlner Motorsport car driven by Peter Ludwig/Mark Thomas/Dion von Moltke/Corey Friedman; Canadian-based Bullet Racingwith Kevin Roush/Darryl O’Young/Brian Wong/James Walker; Rick Ware Racing with Jeffrey Earnhardt/Doug Harrington/Maurice Hull/Scott Monroe; Paul Miller Racing with Rob Bell/Bryce Miller/Bryan Sellers/Tim Sugden; TRG/Nadeau Motorsports with Jim Michaelian/Bob Doyle/Coulter Mulligan; TRG with Dominik Farnbacher/Tim George, Jr., Ben Keating and Lucas Luhr; Chris Smith Racing with Bill Sweedler, Shane Lewis, Mitch Pagery and Thomas Sheehan, and Mitchum Motorsports with Randy Pobst/Derek Whitis/Joey Atterbury/Cooper MacNeil.


Qualifying Results, Porsche Dominates!

Top 5 DP Qualifying Times (Speeds):

* Jorg Bergmeister, No. 45 Flying Lizard Motorsports Porsche/Riley – 1:40.099 (128.033 mph)
* Max Angelelli, No. 10 SunTrust Chevrolet/Dallara – 1:40.133 (127.989 mph)
* Scott Pruett, No. 01 TELMEX/Target BMW/Riley – 1:40.245 (127.846 mph)
* Ryan Dalziel, No. 8 Corsa Car Care Ford/Riley – 1:40.250 (127.840 mph)
* Scott Dixon, No. 02 Target/TELMEX BMW/Riley – 1:40.302 (127.774 mph)

Top 5 GT Qualifying Times (Speeds):

* Andy Lally, No. 67 South Point Hotel & Casino Porsche GT3 – 1:48.487 (118.133 mph)
* Dominik Farnbacher, No. 66 TRG Porsche GT3 – 1:48.781 (117.814 mph)
* Jordan Taylor, No. 88 Autohaus Motorsports Porsche GT3 – 1:48.821 (117.771 mph)
* Craig Stanton, No. 44 Magnus Racing Porsche GT3 – 1:49.011 (117.566 mph)
* Nick Tandy, No. 17 Burtin Racing Porsche GT3 – 1:49.134 (117.433 mph)